Inspiration for Innovation 

I’m sitting here absolutely enjoying The Lego Movie. Constantly, I am bombarded with sparks of innovation. This movie provides so many examples of how I need to open the door wider for my students in the areas of the 4Cs.


Heather Nelson wrote in her online article about three innovation lessons based on The Lego Movie. This whole idea of innovation is not so new in education, yet it’s been overlooked for so long.

My current professional reading selection is The Innovator’s Mindset: Empower Learning, Unleash Talent, and Lead a Culture of Creativity written by George Couros.

I deeply desire to reach deep within me to enhance my teaching which will enrich my students’ educational experience. Last night, I was searching online for lists of supplies for maker spaces. It hit me when I saw on one list sewing needles, thread, material, and a sewing machine. A sewing machine? Those were in the home economics classes of years gone by. I have two sewing machines. Could it be possible for the girls in my class that expressed interest in fashion design to learn how to use the machines?

Thinking about inspirations for innovation, anything is possible.

Leave a Reply

